« Back to Calendar

AuthorsLive with Tom Shachtman at Retired Men's Association - Greenwich Library

February 5 @ 11:00 am - 12:30 pm
Author and historian Tom Shachtman will be here to discuss his latest book The Founding Fortunes: How the Wealthy Paid for and Profited from America’s Revolution.
Co-sponsored with the Retired Men's Association of Greenwich. Event location and address: The First Presbyterian Church, 1 West Putnam Avenue, Greenwich, CT 06830. This program is part of the RMA's weekly program schedule.
The book details how the Founders dealt with tariffs, taxes on the wealthy, the national debt, regional disparities, the census as it affected finances, the ratios of imports to home manufactured goods in ways that are startlingly relevant today. He makes the case that affluence played a greater role in the Revolution than has been acknowledged, exploring this theme through the activities of a number of wealthy individuals and pioneering businessmen, including Robert Morris, John Hancock, and Alexander Hamilton, among others.
In The Founding Fathers, you'll read about the ways the American Revolution affected the disparity between social classes and the ways in which capitalism's growth in the US helped citizens climb the economic ladder.
Fans of David McCullough and Nathaniel Philbrick will enjoy this book's deep dive into American colonial history.
The program is free of charge and all are welcome. Books will be available for purchase and signing at the event through Diane’s Books.
To hear Shachtman discuss his fascinating new book, check out this "Grating The Nutmeg" podcast in which CT state historian Walt Woodward interviews Shachtman. Click HERE to listen.
Click HERE to read the Kirkus Review of The Founding Fortunes.
And, if you are interested in learning more about the American political and social history that Shachtman discusses in The Founding Fortunes, click HERE for a staff-created list of recommended reading.
AuthorsLive is made possible through the support of the Greenwich Library Board of Trustees and contributions by generous donors. To get early access to all the Library's AuthorsLive events, sign up here for Author's email newsletters.

Details

Date:
February 5

Time:
11:00 am

Venue

Greenwich Library

102 West Putnam Avenue
Greenwich
CT 06830
+ Google Map

Phone:
203-622-7900

Website:
greenwichlibrary.org